Everest Base Camp - Day 9 - Loboche (4,950m)

Intrepid Nomads Logo
Intrepid Nomads™

Had another amazing night’s sleep and woke up feeling great. It was nice to have yesterday to relax, although the email I received from Karl made me miss him even more.

The walk today has been my favourite so far. Everyone seems to be in great spirits and the scenery was out of this world. We hit the snowy track which was slippery but a bit more rural. I feel like I have fully acclimatised and can once again think straight. I have decided that I really want to come back to the Himalayas with Karl and do the Annapurna walk which is meant to be beautiful.

Locboche

Tonight we are sleeping in a tea house. It’s pretty grim, although we do have an on-suite (a squat toilet). I would describe the room as ruff… at best. It is little more that ply boards nailed to 2 x 4 with a tin roof. I am also sharing with My MD which should be interesting. At least it’s just for a couple of nights. If I’m honest, I preferred the tent, but the snow is too deep to camp.

Loboche Tea House

It’s freezing cold now. We have reached the snow line which I think is low for this time of year due to the bad weather. More people are feeling the altitude today. After my day of hell I think everyone should go through at least some level of pain. Otherwise it would be too easy.

  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads