Everest Base Camp - Day 8 - Dingboche (4,750m)

Intrepid Nomads Logo
Intrepid Nomads™

I had another surprisingly great sleep, it was freezing so I went a bit OTT with the layers and it seemed to work. Today is another acclimatization day, we did a steep walk up to the top of a hill and back down. Apparently at the top the oxygen levels are 50% less than at sea level.

Most people are getting ill in one way or another. The altitude is causing headaches and sickness. I’m so glad to be feeling fit and well again, even if I do stay off eggs and ‘meat’ for a while.

Dingboche Morning view

Highlight of the day was washing my hair which was done using 3 bowls of water. It wasn’t elegant but it did the trick. I’m still surprised at how quickly I stopped caring what I looked like. I’m also shocked at how well I’m getting on with the group. I actually think that being in a big group has its advantages as you can spend the day floating around between different people. I’m almost certain that I’m not going to make any lifelong friends on this trip; you hear some stories of people growing close in these situations and sharing a bond for life. I like the people I’m with, but I can’t see this happening.

I have also learnt that I am a lone walker. In that I prefer to walk by myself rather than with someone talking. Part of this is to do with the altitude as it makes you out of breath, therefore walking and talking can sometimes be quite difficult, another part is the fact that I am enjoying plodding along at my own pace with my own crazy thoughts. Another guy on the base camp trip said he is a lone walker so it’s reassuring to know I’m not the only anti-social person.

  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads