Everest Base Camp - Day 7 - Dingboche (4,358m)

Intrepid Nomads Logo
Intrepid Nomads™

Felt 100% better today. So glad it has passed as otherwise I would have questioned my ability to complete this trip.

Today was my favourite walk so far, we crossed into the snow line which for the past few days we have been looking up at. The views were outstanding, I don’t have enough adjectives in my vocabulary to be able to describe them in a way which will do it justice. I was just glad to be able to appreciate the scenery.

I did a bit of bonding with my MD who is also on this trip, when some of the lads decided to climb this huge rock for a photo opportunity she suggested that we give it a go. I could hardly have said no, so with a scaffold of men helping us up, we did it. It’s a really great photo.

photo on huge rock

We talked to a German couple who said they didn’t make it to everest base camp or Kalapatthar. Not because of the weather (which reportedly is the worst weather for this time of year for 40 odd years) but because of abbesses on their feet. They said the hospital is full of sick people trying to get to everest base camp. After yesterday I can begin to imagine how they feel.

I woke up last night to go to the toilet and forgot where I was. When I looked around the mountains of Dingboche they were lit up by the moon. They looked so ominous that I was actually frightened for a moment. The stars were out and you could clearly see the Milky Way. It was beautiful.

I have to write a bit about the Sherpers who are fabulous. They honestly cannot do enough for you. Karmal our guide is really easy going and friendly. My favourite Sherpa is Karam Sherpa. He is so small and cute and speaks the best English. He told me his name means the smallest star in the sky. Very appropriate. I can’t remember the name of the guy who carried my bag when I was ill but he is also a wonderful human being.

  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads