Everest Base Camp - Day 3 -Phakding

Intrepid Nomads Logo
Intrepid Nomads™

After a great night’s sleep at the hotel it was an early start (5.30am) to catch our flight to Lukla. I actually felt excited and ready to get into the trek. After some waiting around in the airport we boarded our flight which wasn’t half as bad as I had expected. We even had an air hostess on board. Flying in was like something out of Jurassic Park, you half expect a T-rex to pop out from somewhere. Despite the runway being frighteningly small we landed safely and were ready to begin the trek to everest base camp.

Lukla Airport-Nepal

Our first days trek was surprisingly easy, more like a gentle stroll, although, on a few of the steps I did start to feel the altitude. I certainly won’t be running anywhere fast anytime soon. The campsite is great, everything was set up when we arrived and we had a nice warm room to have our dinner in. If the trip carries on like this I’m going to have to exaggerate my story to the people who sponsored me when I get home.

Another luxury is I have my own tent, which despite my general hate for people did make me feel a bit sad… only for a second though. Once inside I was able to pack and arrange all my things with tons of room. Needless to say some of the lads who have to share a tent have questioned why the smallest girl gets her own. Shit happens I guess. Although I may need someone in when it gets colder, but for now it’s great.

With so many porters, cooks and Sherpers doing pretty much everything for us I have never felt more British. They even fed us cheese sandwiches and spam for lunch. All I need now is my nightgown and pipe.

Tomorrow is apparently one of the hardest days and will be a test for how well our bodies cope with the acclimatisation. I’m looking forward to a challenge as at the moment it feels a bit like a holiday (I realise I may regret saying this).

  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads