Redwood National Park - Camping with bears among the biggest trees on earth

Intrepid Nomads Logo
Intrepid Nomads™

Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park - Day 1


After spending 7 nights in cities we were both looking forward to getting out into the Great American wilderness. As we crossed states into California and saw the forests tower ahead we knew we were out the comfort of city life.

Blog post image


We arrived at Jeddadiah State Camp Site, one of the few that is open this early in the season. Each spot had its own picnic table, fire pit and bear box! We were informed by the camp site host's that both bears and mountain lions had been spotted as there haven't been enough tourists to scare them off yet. Great!

Blog post image


Our camping spot is in the middle of the dense Redwood forest. The trees are breathtaking. This is nature at its most spectacular. Natures giants tower over you an make you feel so small. As we set up our camp we really felt as though we had found our own secluded spot for admiring these magnificent trees... that is until Mr RV turns up with a HUGE camper van the size of our entire flat back in Manchester. We have to give the guy some credit as it took skill to reverse the beast into the small camping spot OPPOSITE our camp. The relaxing sounds of the wind in the leaves and birds in the sky was interrupted with the continuous drone of a generator. Thankfully this stopped at 7pm.

Blog post image


There is something satisfying about building your own tent, cooking outdoors and building a fire. It must be our primal instincts. I think we both prefer this to the city. But it is cold. As the sky darkens and the fire starts to die out we climb into our tent and I suddenly wish i had a thicker sleeping bag. I dream of the -10 degrees down sleeping bag I had on the Everest trek as I cling to the flimsy piece of cloth someone sold us as a sleeping bag.

Blog post image


I wake up in the night bursting for the toilet. Those cans of beer seemed like a great idea at the time. There is no way I'm facing the bears and mountain lions alone. I wake Karl up. He tried to convince me its was nearly morning and will be getting light soon. I look at the clock and its 11.30pm.

Blog post image


The toilet block is only 200m away but with only a head torch to guide you through the trees it may as well be miles away. I keep imagining eyes staring back at me. As i turn around to fasten the tent I look around and cant see Karl. All the memories of american horror films come flooding back. The Blair Witch Project. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Killer Bears!! (that's not a film but just what went through my head), I screamed. Ran. Then tripped on a tree root and almost face planted the ground. Karl suddenly appears from behind the car asking what the hell I'm doing. I grab hold of him. Heart rate at 250 bpm. "I thought I was going to die!" I say. Un-fazed by my panic Karl leads the way to the toilet block. Needlessly to say, I didn't get much sleep.


Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park - Day 2


Waking up freezing cold I made one of the aims of the day to find another blanket to keep us warm. Once we were up we made breakfast on our stove and headed out to explore.

Blog post image


Without having a great deal of knowledge of the area we headed to the local information point where the most helpful man in the world told us everything we would ever need to know about the redwoods. Leaving with our arms full of maps and leaflets we picked a nearby walk called 'Boy scout trail' which went through some of the widest trees in the area. What we thought would be a relatively easy 6 mile walk felt alot longer due to the winding paths. It was well worth the effort as each corner revealed another amazing view. These really are trees on steroids! You would not be fazed if you saw fairies or pixies jumping from the enormous mushrooms which line these trees.

 

Blog post image

Blog post image

Blog post image

Back at camp, feeling like the the wild woman of the wood, I suggest that I start the fire tonight. Karl looks at me disappointedly "but that's the man's job" he says. He knows how much I love gender stereotyping and I immediately want to protest, but he does look upset, and he did have so much fun last night. Rather than make it myself I suggest we build it together and he can teach me. This works out well as apparently I don't actually have a clue how to start a fire.


We sit back triumphant at our joint effort.


Man makes fire.


The fire feels good.

Blog post image


The cavemen in us is out in full force. The cool beer tastes sweeter by the warmth of the flames. If only all domestic tasks felt this good.

  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads