Everest Base Camp - Day 1 - Café Nero, Heathrow Departure Lounge

Intrepid Nomads Logo
Intrepid Nomads™

I’m early.

Two and a half hours early in fact. How long will Café Nero let me sip this coffee before they kick me out?

I’m alone.

Test

I want to make the most of this as in a few hours I will be joining a group of 28 people, most of whom I have only met once or not at all. I quite enjoy being alone, although, saying that, people do have some uses, such as helping to carry bags.

I have definitely packed too much. My bag is far too heavy. I have no idea how I’m going to get it down to 10kg for the flight to Lukla. It was great to find this out 2 days before departure which led to a frantic panic where I packed, re-packed, bought a new bag, packed, weighed it and packed again. I still don’t know if I have everything I need. Although judging by the current weight I will be wearing 6kg of clothes / equipment when boarding the flight to Lukla.

I’m worrying.

Worrying about the dissertation I have to write when I get back, worrying about being fit enough, worrying that I really should have tried to stop drinking and worrying about the fact that I have to spend 18 days with a bunch of strangers where the only thing we have in common is the company we work for. Why did I think it was a good idea to come away with people from work? Work is the one thing I am pleased to escape from.

I’m even worried that I’m not excited enough. All week people have been asking me if I’m excited, nervous or scared. If I’m honest, I don’t know if I am any of these. I am rarely emotionless but I do generally feel calm about the whole thing. Maybe it will all kick-in on the plane and I will start running around screaming ‘GET ME OFF!’ I hope I don’t get stuck sitting next to someone who is really excited. I would hate to have to fake excitement, or worse, say something really negative so they shut up and stop annoying me. That would not be a good first impression.

I have also had a realisation. I had always thought that I loved airports but what I really love is the ability to drink at any time of the day and for it to be totally acceptable. It’s not the same when you’re drinking coffee.

  • Intrepid Nomads