Essentials Items to Pack for a Mount Toubkal Trek

Intrepid Nomads Logo
Intrepid Nomads™

We spent 5 days trekking in the Atlas Mountains of Morroco with the main goal being the ascent of mount Toubkal, the highest mountain in North Africa. This is not a definitive list of what kit to pack but what I found most useful during my experience.

Gloves

toubkal kit list gloves
Although you would not have thought so looking at the the summit of Toubkal from the comfortable warmth of the foothills, at altitude it was freezing cold and incredibly windy. If I could have took a thicker pair of gloves I would have, at least I was not reduced to wearing socks on my hands as some of the more unfortunate members were forced to.

 

Hiking Boots and Socks

boots for climbing toubkal

I would not go any walk without them (even in hot weather), good worn in boots and thick hiking socks prevent blisters. A fresh pair of socks can feel amazing so pack more than 1 pair. Boots also provide ankle support and good grip to stop you falling. Simple but most effective.


A Good Book

book of secrets

What to do at night? With walking finishing in the early afternoon the rest of the day is yours to do as you please, in the middle of the Atlas mountains there’s really not a lot to do. A good book provided pleasing entertainment.


Vaseline

vaseline is essential
Chafing can be a real pain and was for me, the straps from my backpack caused skin chafing across the chest\shoulder area. Vaseline really helped to ease the pain. The smallest discomforts can feel twice as bad when walking so always be prepared.


Fleece

warm fleece

I took two and used both with a jacket on top, believe me it was cold towards the top. Even if you have a warm day always take extra layers just in case.


Zip off Shorts\Trousers

usable trek trousers


I took one pair for the whole trip, when it was hot the bottoms zipped off and they became shorts. Very useful when at lower altitudes as it’s very hot. When the weather was colder I wore them as trousers. For night times I took a pair of comfortable jogging pants which was one of the better ideas I had.


Walking Poles

walking poles


I had no use for walking poles on the way up, on the way down they were a god send. Although I thought my legs where strong I ended up with a lot of knee pain on the descent. The poles really took the pressure off, if only I had used them throughout perhaps my knees would have survived a bit longer. We only took poles that where £6 each (from Decathlon) just to try them out, in the end they were worth every penny, we even donated them to one of the locals after we had finished.


Wet Wipes

wet wipes
A bad case of diarrhoea and no toilet roll, no more explanation needed.


Sun Cream

sun cream for kit list
This is a must have unless you want to cause yourself unnecessary suffering, on the same point a hat can also help.

 

Torch

head torch for Toubkal


I just took a small hand held torch which was fine for me, most others had head lamps but this was going to be an extra expense so the handheld sufficed. For the final ascent we set off in the dark, those without light had rely on the light from other group members, an awkward situation considering we were scrambling over rocks. A torch also allows you to read when the sun goes down.

 

Wind Proof \ Water Proof Coat

water proof coat


This is something I questioned would be useful in Morocco, how wrong was I. Although what rain fell was fairly sporadic and hardly sustained the main benefit was the wind protection. The wind on Toubkal was perhaps the strongest I have ever felt, at one point I was literally blown off my feet and ended up lying down on the side of the mountain.

 

Essential Items I Should Of Packed But Didn’t

 

Imodium

essential kit imodium


It all happened 30 minutes before the trek began, while everyone was prepared to go I was becoming acquainted with the inside of the toilet cubicle. Luckily I was able to borrow some Imodium, without it I feel the story would be very much different.


Some nice food\snacks

kendal mint cake

I was hungry most of the trip and regretted not bringing my own snacks, there is however a plentiful supply of mars bars and Pringles at base camp to accompany the food served at base camp.


Antihistamine Tablets

allergy tablets


As someone whose body decides it is allergic to a host of everyday things you would have thought I would have been prepared. Clearly not for when I had a reaction there was not much I could do, a simple wash in cold water had to suffice. A pair of sun glasses came in useful to protect my eyes from dust and pollen.

 

If you need more ideas of what to include in your Mount Toubkal kit list see 10 Essential Items to Pack for EBC

  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads