Honey I'v left the car keys in the Grand Canyon

Intrepid Nomads Logo
Intrepid Nomads™

It may not be the biggest, it may not be the deepest or the widest, but its certainly the grandest” said the overly exaggerated American voice as we sat watching the grand canyon welcome video in the multi million pound visitor centre.

Blog post image

So here we are at the Grand Canyon, and it looks like everyone else is as well, in their freshly washed garments. We however are into our 5th day of camping feeling a little dishevelled to say the least.

A quick day trip around the visitor center, a walk along the canyon rim and  several spectacular views of the canyon and we decide its time for some beers to escape the crowds.

 

Blog post image

We awoke early in the morning with the plan to hike down into the canyon. The Bright Angel Trail was the most popular and it had water filling stations along the way so it seemed the most sensible choice.

 

bright angel trail head sign

 

The walk we were going to do was graded 'difficult' and would take 4 to 6 hours. This hike was different in that you walk down first then walk back up, around 250 people each year don't make it back up presumably they must be rescued by a donkey. There's warnings everywhere.

 

Blog post image

 

So we descended with out much of an issue, the further we go the less people there is until we are almost on our own. The way back up is much harder, the sun is shining bright and there is little shade several hours later and feeling really tired we make it to the top but the celebrations were to be short lived.

Blog post image

As we approached the car I joked that I had left the car keys in the Grand Canyon, however the joke was on me. As I rummaged through my bag. I wondered where my jacket was,”its not here Leanne”,

Where's the car keys?”,

Eh, In the jacket”.

All our worldly possessions were in the car and we had no way to get in. The car keys were lost somewhere in the Grand Canyon! I was in the shit and Leanne let me know about. Leanne was looking for the lost and found but I had no choice, I had to go back down.

 

Blog post image

According to the warnings for a trip the length I was about to complete, for the secound time, I would not only be the donkey who left his keys in the grand canyon I would be coming back out strapped around its back. I set out the sound of Leanne screaming “I hope you don't come back” still buzzing through my ears.

With aching legs and no idea whether I would find the keys let alone get back up. I set out back down the canyon. Leanne was to wait at the top and see if anyone picked the jacket up.

The sun was at its highest as I ran down the trail, past the crowds. Some cheered as they stepped out the way, some laughed and some warned me not to trip. As the people became less and less I reached the first shelter. No Jacket.

Blog post image

So on I went to the final shelter. If there was no jacket there I may as well have continued on into the canyon, never to return.

But that was not to be, there hanging up in the shelter at the furthest point on our walk was the jacket. I quickly found the keys, I knew it was going to be okay. Leanne however did not and I still had out to get out the Grand Canyon.

While Leanne worried, I set out to climb out the Grand Canyon for the second time in one day. A light jog turned into a fast walk. The half way point appeared and I continued through the blistering heat. I had to let Leanne know it was going to be okay. It was hard, really hard but there was no way the donkey was coming for me. Stumbling out of the Grand Canyon amongst the crowds of visitors I looked for Leanne and waved, I had the keys and she jumped for joy.

I had only been away two hours, setting the new world record for finding keys on the Bright Angel Trail. Three days later my legs are still in pain. But hey you cant be the hero when you started the fire!

  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads
  • Intrepid Nomads